Posted by: dschneid2010 | December 2, 2008

Course and Canada

Hey Bloggers!

Guess I had a blog post due yesterday (oops?). I got messed up, since it said 1/12/08, for some reason I was thinking January (I know, 08, doesn’t make any sense. Luckily I realized my error only a day late, so here it goes).

I figured I’d grab one of the reusable topics (what in this course has interested you).

There’s been two things really. The first, and most important is giving presentations frequently. I think it’s really cool, I’ve actually always secretly wanted to teach high school…not to call everyone a highschooler, I just get that feeling.  I must say, that end of the class is a lot better. You have complete control, and class flies a lot more (I remember once I gave a 45 min presentation and it was a breeze).  Professors have it so easy! Well, maybe not quite, as you need to keep a lot of enthusiasm as I’ve noticed, to keep people interested, and they aren’t much help in letting you know how you’re doing. Still, it’s a rush.

Something else that’s interested me is how come everyone keeps calling Zee Zed! I think what happened is that Kate kept saying Zed, and everyone assumed it was some special Math terminology for Z, the set of integers, when in fact, it’s just that Kate is Canadian, and in Canada they call Zee Zed! Crazy huh? I did a bit of research to see if I could find out why this was the case, and here’s the best answer I found.

“The common Anglo-Saxon is Zea. The French brought the zed when they took over the throne of England in 1066. So it has always been the commoner in England who used Zea and the higher mucky-mucks who used zed.

In our attempt for egalitarian society, we chose to go with the baser elements.”

Viva la revolution!

Responses

  1. Hahaha! I noticed the Zee–>Zed change as well–in fact, I’m guilty of it myself. I also notice myself wanting to type emails with British spellings like Kate (ex. organise) except that everyone would really know that I’m a poser.

  2. Awwww, you guys warm my heart!

  3. Bonus points on the quiz tomorrow?

  4. Two other Canadian differences relating to number theory–sorta.

    Plural of beer is beer — no superfluous ‘s’ tacked on! Yank: “We had three beers.” Canuck: “We had three beer.”

    Speaking of numbers: 24 is a special number because that is how many bottles in a beer case. (And Canucks always buy 24 beer.) To pass as a Canuck at the beer store, you ask for a “two-four”. Certainly never “a case of twenty-four beers”!

    Kate’s Dad, spreading cultural diversity


Leave a Reply

Categories

